Home | Upload | About Us | Contact Us | Site Map | FAQ                                        Tuesday, Mar 26, 2019
Ionian Islands

Ionian Islands


Where West Meets East

Provided by Ionian Islands Region

The islands of the Ionian Sea stretch along the western coast of the central part of the Greek mainland and further to the south along the western coast of the Peloponnese. They constitute an independent group of twelve small and large islands with their own special character.

Their unique natural beauty, combined with their long history and the blend of all the different cultures and influences which have left their traces on the islands, has endowed each one of them with its own distinctive image.

The Ionian islands in fact consist of two separate, individual groups of islands, each with its own character. The northern group is dominated by Corfu with the Diapontia islands (Othoni, Ereikousa, Mathraki, Diapolo and other smaller islands) to the north-west, and Paxos and Antipaxos, with their own constellation of smaller islands, to the south-east.

The more densely clustered central group consists of Lefkada, separated from the mainland by a channel of water, and the islands around it: Skorpios, Kalamos, Kastos, Skorpidi, Madouri, Meganisi, Sparti, Heloni, Thileia and Kythros, Kefalonia, Zakynthos and the celebrated Ithaca.

Share go to facebook
© 2008-2014 itravelfirst.com All rights reserved. itravelfirst.com is a trademark of Advanced Era of Science Inc.
Terms and Conditions
iTravelfirst in NEWS
logout login Create Account